Contact Us

21/7/20 - Carbon Emissions Tax consultation

More Details

31/7/20 - UK Government's response to Climate Change Agreements consultation

More Details

Elements of new Emissions Trading System - UK Government response

More Details

ETG submissions to UK Government on post-Brexit policy options

More Details

Letter to BEIS on need for clarity on UK carbon pricing policy from Jan 2021

More Details


Become a member.


ETG started life back in 1999 under the auspices of ACBE and CBI with just 30 ‘founder-members’ as an informal body, put together to prepare and submit outline proposals to the UK Government as the basis for the pioneering 5-year voluntary UK Greenhouse Gas Emissions Trading Scheme that began in April 2002. We have been working closely with the UK Government on emissions trading implementation issues ever since.

During 2004 the Membership of the ETG agreed to establish the ETG as a non profit-making company (ETG Ltd) to be funded substantially from Member subscription. As emissions trading has moved from being on a trial basis to being an established fact of commercial life, the ETG now has a secure operational and financial base from which to continue to support the considerable UK business involvement, expertise and investment in emissions trading into the future.
The ETG Secretariat is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Group’s affairs, including arrangements for the various Working Group meetings and co-ordination of ETG’s work programme.

Head of Secretariat
John Craven
T: 020 7484 5274

Secretariat Executive
Anne-Marie Ferguson
T: 020 7484 5274
The affairs of ETG are managed by the ETG Board which meets three times a year for review purposes. Directors are required to seek re-election - in rotation every two years – at the AGM which is normally held in May. The current elected members are as follows. Their organisational affiliation is shown in brackets for information. However, all Directors are appointed in a personal capacity.The elected members are:

Chairman - Paul Dawson (RWEnpower)
Frank Aaskov (Make UK)
Tom Bainbridge (Lux Nova Partners)
Lucy Candlin (Future Perfect) - Co-chair, EU ETS WG
Matthew Croucher (Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders) - Trade Association member
Julie Gartside (SLR Consulting)- Chair, Domestic Measures WG
Dr Richard Leese (Mineral Products Association) –Trade Association member
Dr Andrew McDermott (British Ceramic Confederation) - Trade Association member
Daniel Radov (NERA)
Stephen Reeson (Food and Drink Federaton)- Trade Association member
Bill Thompson (BP) - Co-chair, EU ETS WG

Working Group structure
The ETG operates through two main Working Groups
(WGs), as follows:

EU ETS WG - Co-chairs, Bill Thompson and Lucy Candlin

Domestic measures (including CCAs, CRC and ESOS) WG - Chair, Julie Gartside

These are supported by sub-groups that meet when necessary